Announcing The Retrospective Project

Crap name I know!

Over the past couple of weeks I’ve been interviewing candidates for a senior designer role. I saw a guy who had work in his portfolio from probably the last century which, on reflection, made me consider how much stuff I’ve done myself over the last decade.

With this in mind, I’ve decided to try and collate everything I’ve done as a professional designer into one portfolio space. I’ve got work on CDs, zip discs (remember those), hard drives, portable drives, paper and God knows where. I even think that there is a whole bunch of work on an old G4 machine I gave to my parents a couple of years ago that isn’t backed up (dangerous I know!)

There are a whole load of things to consider as well – number of screens / images for each project, how do I best show print stuff etc etc.

So, now that I’ve announced it I’ve got to do it. I need to think of a suitable online vehicle or service which will carry this work and allow easy updating and viewing.

On the name. When trying to think of a suitable name for the project I could only come up with the obvious and so I’m calling it what it is. If anyone has any better ideas…

Right, now where’s that old machine with a zip drive? Proping up the office assistant’s desk I think.

This entry was posted in design, Uncategorized, work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Announcing The Retrospective Project

  1. higgis says:

    Those JamJar ones have to be in there, surely?

  2. simonianson says:

    Yes for sure. I will post images as I dig things out over the next few weeks.

  3. Eddie says:

    Remember bookmarque?

  4. simonianson says:

    @ Eddie – that’s going a long way back. The problem is that some of these bits of work are in either FreeHand or Quark. Reading them may be a problem…

  5. Eddie says:

    Pip uses Freehand – get it out!!!

Leave a Reply

